Omega-3 fatty acids – natural and irreplaceable.

Omega-3-fatty acids are essential, i.e. vital, polyunsaturated fatty acids. Fatty acids are oils that we consume in our diet.

Omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids

Fats are composed of 1 molecule of glycerol and 3 fatty acids .

• Fatty acids are divided into saturated and insaturated.
• The unsaturated fatty acids are further subdivided into monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids.
• There are three kinds of polyunsaturated omega fatty acids:

  • Omega-3 fatty acids: α-linolenic acid, eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)
  • Omega-6 fatty acids: linoleic acid, arachidonic acid
  • Omega-9 fatty acids: oleic acid


Fatty acid classification

Saturated fats do not contain any double bonds, monounsaturated fats contain one, and polyunsaturated fatty acids contain two or more double bonds.

 Omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids


Animal fats
  • Too many saturated fatty acids in the diet gradually lead to blocked blood vessels. Examples: bacon, salami, sausage, butter, high-fat cheese.
Olive oil (85%)
  • Cardiovascular diseases can be reduced or avoided by increased consumption of these omega-9 fatty acids. Examples: olive oil, nuts, avocados.
fatty acids Omega-3 and Omega-6